Perth Heat Sizzle

The Perth Heat have won back to back Australian Baseball League titles and have now won the Claxton shield five times in the last six years, an achievement that is hard to be matched in Western Australian sport.

Congratulations to all involved with the team and for winning in such nail-biting style.

The Heat secured their second Australian Baseball League title with a 7-6 win over Melbourne Aces in a marathon 13-inning deciding game.

Twice the Heat overcame three-run deficits and drew level before James McOwen, who was last year a losing finalist and requested the chance to play for Perth Heat, repaid that debt, scoring from third base on a wild pitch from Andrew Russell in the fourth extra inning to give Perth a 2-1 lead in the series and the Championship.

McOwen scored two runs and drove in another, while catcher Allan de San Miguel also played a crucial role with a two-run home run. The pitcher’s too played their part and the fielding was truly superb by both sides. It would be unfair to single out any one player for praise, as it was a genuine team effort over a long season.

With a worldwide audience it was a credit to both teams that such a fantastic final was the showpiece for Australian Baseball.
Thanks you and congratulations to Perth Heat and the Melbourne Aces.

Perth Heat Sizzle
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *